• Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • the Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

Support for research - EEA Young Economist Award

Welcome to UniCredit & Universities!

23 August 2018 - UniCredit Foundation in collaboration with the prestigious European Economic Association (EEA), conferred 3 prizes to the best papers presented by young economists at the annual congress of the EEA. The award was presented to the three winners before a EEA plenary lecture during EEA-ESEM. This year's conference took place from 27 - 31 August 2018 in Cologne.

Eligible candidates (and all co-authors) should be no more than three years past a PhD defense and current members of the European Economic Association. To apply for the award, please click on the relevant box when submitting your paper through Conference Maker on the EEA website.

Both theoretical and empirical papers are considered without any restriction of topics.  Applicants must be under 30 years old and should not have discussed their PhD thesis for three years. The three winners will receive 2,000 each.

For further information on the award, please click here.

The 2017 award winners:

Stéphane Dupraz, with the paper "A Kinked-Demand Theory of Price Rigidity"

Matteo Gamalerio
, with the paper "Fiscal Rules and the Selection of Politicians: Evidence from Italian Municipalities"

Petra Thiemann, with the paper "Does Teacher Sorting across and within Schools Explain Inequality in Education Outcomes?"


Pictured below, our Secretary General Giannantonio de Roni and Scientific Director Annalisa Aleati, with winner Matteo Gamalerio (second from left) and Giacomo Ponzetto (second from right), Marco Fanno alumnus and EEA Journal associate editor.

Below, the winners of the EEA Young Economist Award: Stéphane Dupraz, Petra Thiemann, Matteo Gamalerio






  • Awards Ceremony 2017

    2017-06-19 10:30:00

    Take a look at the pictures of the Awards Ceremony 2016! Read more


Last winners

  • Scholarship Crivelli Europe

    All the winners of the 13th Edition

    Read more

  • Scholarship Marco Fanno

    All the winners of the 2014 Edition

    Read more


    All the winners of the 4th Edition

    Read more

  • Scholarship International internship program

    All the winners of the 2nd Edition

    Read more